National Eat your Veggies Day, in case you missed it!

Sunday, June 17, 2012 

National “Eat Your Veggies” Day


Sponsored by: Sweet Earth Natural Foods


“The thinking man must oppose all cruel customs no matter how deeply rooted in tradition and surrounded by a halo. When we have a choice, we must avoid bringing torment and injury into the life of another, even the lowliest creature; to do so is to renounce our manhood and shoulder a guilt which nothing justifies.” – Albert Schweitzer

My first book, The Ice Cream Theory, compares ice cream flavors to people’s personality traits. In all honesty, the comparison could have used absolutely any food… wine, pizza, even burritos. Actually, I make multiple references to a potential sequel to the book using burritos as the next medium. For example, I had an ex-lover who was similar to a soyrizo burrito with green chili sauce; he was fiery, but authentically himself similar to the spice of the fake chorizo and the real Mexican flavors a chili sauce presents.

See? I know what I’m doing… I’m a pro at the whole food/person analogy.

I’m also a pro when it comes to burritos. Which, living nearly as far away from Mexico as one can be in the continental U.S., makes no sense I’m sure. I should be a poutine-pro, right? But burritos have long been one of my favorite foods. As you can see from my bio picture on the right hand side… this is a very serious love affair I’m having.

When I found out there was a company – Sweet Earth Natural Foods – that made all-vegetarian burritos, hand-crafted using ancient grains, fresh veggies, beneficial herbs and spices, and worldly flavors, I was sold. It’s so difficult to find a delicious frozen burrito, and theirs seemed so unlike all the others currently offered that I absolutely needed to get my hands on them.

And I’m really glad I did.

Sweet Earth Natural Foods recognizes that “feeding the modern world takes a lot of care and effort. So we’re participating in a better and better story about the way people eat cultivating the best of California’s central coast – ingredients and cuisine – and batching it up to make the world’s tastiest, healthiest, re-revitalized vegan and vegetarian foods.”

And they make “eating veggies” easy to do, especially with their “Kyoto Burrito” which I got to try today. Stuffed with adzuki beans, adamame, baby bok choy, fresh baby spinach, ginger, and shiitake mushrooms this is not your average burrito. The flavors are unique, distinctly Japenese, and blend so well it’s as if they always belonged in a burrito together. If I had to compare to a person? The Kyoto Burrito is a lot like that nerdy guy that you friendzoned in your early-twenties (read: traditional Mexican burrito), but when you re-met him again later in life after he had served in the Peace Corps he seemed to have totally reinvented himself. Yum.

Recently, Sweet Earth Natural Foods won the VegNews 2012 Best of Show Winner for Best New Vegan Product. And they absolutely deserved it. You can find Sweet Earth Natural Foods on both Facebook and Twitter. If you’re a burrito fan – dude, if you’re just a fan of flavor – you really need to try these. Just don’t touch mine… I’m an angry, jealous lover especially when it comes to sexy tasting burritos!

Happy “Eat Your Veggies” Day!

Disclaimer: The product(s) featured in this review were provided free of cost to me by the manufacturer. Opinions expressed are totally my own and are NOT in anyway influenced by monetary compensation. 

 
Leave a Reply

